On Our Website
On Our Website
On Our Website:
Trescott History
1881 Atlas
Historical Links
Trescott Today
About Us
Contact Us / Join
Trescott Places

Activities:
THS Newsletter
Local Business

 
Our Next Meeting
Details to be announced.


We meet at the Lubec Memorial Library

Lubec Public Library - Click for Directions

Place Names in Trescott, Maine
In and Around Trescott

Every small town has a collection of familiar locally known names of local settlements, hollows, coves, and roads, whether official or not. Here is a list of named places in Trescott, most of them with a long history.

Click here to explore the Trescott area in Google Maps...
 
Roads and Settlement Clusters
County Road Haycock's Harbor Road Moose River Rd
Diane Way Herring Cove Cross Road Morrison Triangle
Dinsmore Road Island Drive (Cove Road) Parkinson's Corner
Dixie Jones Road Seashore Road
Dixie Road McBride Road Smith Beach Loop
Eastern Head Road McLellan Road Timber Cove Road
Elysian Way Moose Cove Wilcox Road
Haven Hurst Road Moose River Wilcox Settlement

Water and Land Formations
Bailey's Ledge Fred's Island Pirate Island
Bailey's Mistake Harris Island Race Point
Balch Head Haycock Harbor Raft Cove
Bar Island Haycock Head River Rock Road
Basin Heath Brook Ruth Point
Birch Ridge Herring Cove Sandy Cove
Bog Brook Irish Hollow Saunders Meadow Brook
Bog Creek Iron Mast Shag Rock Bluff
Burnt Cove Leighton Point So. Branch of the Cobscook
Carlo Cove Lily Lake South Trescott
Carlow Creek Little Moose Island Straight Bay
Cobscook River EAst Branch Long Creek Cove Talbot Cove
 Commissary Point Marsh Creek The Birches
Cove Mill Pond Memory Cove The Pool
Crow Neck Moon Brook The Porcupine
Donahue Brook Moon Hill Tide Mill Cove
Duck Bill Cove Moose Cove Tide Mill Gore
East Stream Moose River Timber Cove
Eastern Head No. 9 Hill Tucker Hill
Eastern Head Ledges North Trescott Tucker's Cove
Ethol Bog Partridge Point Weir Cove
Falls Island Pat's Elbow Wiggins Brook
Finnegan Brook Pig Point Wilber Point
Flag Staff Point Pine Islands  
On Our Website
 
The Trescott Historical Society is a private membership organization and is open to the public. We are dedicated to the study and publication of the history of the Township of Trescott, Maine. The now-unincorporated town of Trescott is nestled between the towns of Whiting & Cutler to the west, and Lubec to the east. To the north are the shores of Whiting Bay and Straight Bay, and to the south is Grand Manan Channel in the mouth of the Bay of Fundy.

Formerly known as Plantation No. 9, it was incorporated in 1827, named after Major Lemuel Trescott (1751-1826), a patriot from the American Revolution, who had moved to the area in 1784, and had become a prominent citizen. During those early days, the town of Trescott was busy with lumbering, farming and fishing.




Contents Copyright 2017 by Trescott Historical Society, but please feel free to use and link.